Press Release on the Future of the Festival from the Glass Art Society and IFOG

We are delighted to announce that the International Festival of Glass and the British Glass Biennale have their future secured.

Five organisations presented detailed and thoughtful proposals and we are grateful for the time and commitment they have shown.

Ultimately, we had to make a choice as to which organisation could best take forward the vision of the festival, provide maximum benefit for the UK glass community and continue to work with our national and international collaborators to ensure the festival and the exhibition remains a significant global event for glass.

The successful organisation is the Glass Art Society. Brandi Clark and her team at GAS have expertise in organising complex glass events, a massive following of artists and collectors from around the world and a keen eye on the strengths and weaknesses of the current glass scene. By choosing a network it opens up possibilities for positive collaboration with UK glass centres as potential host venues.  We feel this will bring the festival and the UK glass community the best possible future.

Brandi Clark, Executive Director of GAS stated:

“I am so excited the Glass Art Society has been chosen to lead the next phase of the International Festival of Glass. GAS’s focus on supporting and promoting the international glass community has positioned us to steward and expand the solid foundation the Ruskin Mill Land Trust has built over the past 20 years. We are honoured to be trusted with this endeavour and are eagerly anticipating our first festival in 2026!”

Janine Christley, Festival Director, says “we hope everyone will support GAS with the same warmth and enthusiasm that the festival has enjoyed over the last twenty years. We look forward to the festival and British Glass Biennale becoming even more ambitious and exciting under Brandi’s proficiency and leadership.”

The handover will take place at the end of the 10th International Festival of Glass, 23 – 26 August 2024.